Pretty Alarm/Travel Clocks and Coffee Mugs



99 Cents Up & Less (Third Avenue ATrading)
7219 Third Avenue (between 72nd and 73rd Streets)
Bay Ridge, Brooklyn, N.Y.
Nearest Transportation: R Train to Bay Ridge Avenue/4th Avenue

I like to use pretty things that help me get started in the morning. This is why I took time to select a new alarm clock and coffee mug that would express how happy I am in my new apartment.

Bay Ridge has many variety, discount and 99 cents stores that offer almost everything you need for your everyday shopping. 99 99 Cents Up & Less offers the a great variety of housewares, stationery, gift items and personal care products. The variety is larger than at smaller stores because they have combined two stores into one.

The “Love Is” alarm clock turned out to be exactly what I was looking for in an alarm clock and then some!

The clock has a cover that I think makes it sturdy enough to become a travel clock. The picture is fixed into the frame so you cannot put your own photo in. This is so cute, though, I don’t think it should be changed.

The cover opens to a clock face that has another cute picture of a girl and boy on a bicycle. The pinks, yellow and white make this a very pleasant way to get up and start the day. The alarm, too, is audible but not shrill.

The pictures remind me of the 1960s and 1970s because of the upbeat and cute quality they have. For $2.99 I think I got a good deal–a clock that wakes me up in the morning and also brings back memories of the 1960s and 1970s. In a way it’s like a mini-time machine, for me anyway.

There’s also an assortment of very colorful, lightweight ceramic coffee mugs. I’m not one for heavy, large or oversized coffee mugs and bowls such as the ones available in some high end stores. A lightweight mug can serve well for coffee or tea.

This Butterfly mug is made by All for you Products. It’s a good example of the other colorful, feminine styles available for $1.99 a mug.

Customer Service is also very good at this store. Since the aisles are very narrow you may need help locating an item. Just ask and one of the staff will gladly help you.

