Making a bar of soap last longer

I think one of the things I disliked about bar soap was the way it quickly turned into a gooey mess after a few uses. The soupy mixture of soap and water in the old soap dish was not pleasant to look at and very messy to clean up. I switched to liquid soaps over two years ago in an effort to save the extra work of cleaning up the soap dishes and out of frustration from losing bar after bar of soap once it became too soft and misshapen.

Box in which Lucky Brand Cocoa Butter & Lime bar soap comes in.

Inside the soap is wrapped in cellophane which keeps the bar clean and dry.

I think all that is about to change. While shopping at Pathmark at the Fairmont Mini Mall I picked up a two-pack of Lucky Brand’s Cocoa Butter & Lime hand soap for $1.00. I loved the fragrance and looked forward to trying it. When I opened the box I was pleasantly surprised to see the care given to the soap: the cellophane wrapping on the soap was a nice touch. I’ve noticed that pricey soaps like Dove are placed into the box without any paper or cellophane wrapping.

Soap dishes by BeMeiJiaju Geimei.

The soap dish consists of three parts: a little drain like part that goes over the bottom dish and a clear cover.

I realized that the culprit causing the early loss of so many bars of soap was the design of the soap dishes I previously used. When I saw these soap dishes in Chen’s Discount Store I decided to give them a try.

The two-part soap dish has a small drainboard on top of the lower dish which collects any water that drips off of the soap. This enables the soap to air dry and retain its shape much longer. Once it’s dry I put the cover on to keep the soap clean.

I also use one of these soap dishes for my scouring pads and find that it works well for them, too. Gone are the days of soupy soap dishes. I already have seen an increase in the number of days my scouring pads remain useable and my Lucky Cocoa Butter and Lime bar of soap has lasted three weeks. Ever so gradually the soap is shrinking in size from use but it has not broken or become mushy.

The Lucky Brand Hand Soaps are available at Pathmark’s Boro Park Store located at the Fairmont Mini Mall, 60th Street and 13th Avenue, Boro Park, Brooklyn, NY. Price: $1.00 for 2 bar pack.

The BeMeiJiaju Geimei Soap Dish is available at Chen’s Discount Store at 5415 New Utrecht Avenue in Boro Park, Brooklyn, NY. Price: $1.29 each.

==========================================================
Please note: I am not affiliated with any store or manufacturer.

